Taping My Foot to Help My Knee

August 12, 2009 at 8:47 pm (HES, Life) (, , , )

So it took me a couple tries to learn how to tape my foot as the sports chiropractor did, but I finally have it down pretty well.  Hopefully nobody gets too eeked out by feet…

  1. It started by wrapping a piece around my metatarsal area and the ball of my foot, and then another piece the same direction except back around the arch.  That’s basically what you see in the first picture.  These the front piece of tape helps give some sort of stability to my metatarsal area and the back one does the same for my arch.
  2. Two pieces (one on top of the other) begin on the medial side of my foot at the distal end of my first metatarsal, right before my first phalanx (big toe), and wrap straight around my heel to the same place in relation to my fifth phalanx (baby toe) on the lateral side of my foot.  This helps to give some sort of stability.
  3. Then, another two pieces begin in the same spot as in step 2, but they wrap diagonally across the inferior side of my arch, come up slightly, go around my heel, and then straight along the medial side of my foot to end up where they started.  The same is done, except obviously wrapping in the other direction, with two pieces starting and ending on the outside of my foot, before my fifth phalanx.  This helps to keep those mid-foot bones from collapsing downward so much.
  4. Finally, another piece is wrapped again around the metatarsal, and another around the arch.  These should just cover up the first two pieces of tape from step 1.  This gives the extra support of having two pieces, but waiting until the end to do the second layer also helps to hold the other pieces of tape in place.

One might note that the tape used in the pictures is not medical tape.  In fact, it looks an awful lot like electrical tape.  That’s because it is.  Electrical is used in this case because it is more elastic than medical tape, allowing the necessary flexibility for the foot to move around.  Also, when taping, the tape shouldn’t be super type.  It just needs to be placed on the foot, so that the flexibility of the electric tape can actually do it’s job as opposed to if it were already stretched before the foot tries to move.

Leave a Reply

